TomasinoWeb logo
TomasinoWeb logo

Thursday, February 29, 2024

UST rules UAAP women's taekwondo kyorugi

1 min readWith the win, UST has now garnered their sixth championship in Season 86.
Profile picture of Rob Andrew Dongiapon

Published 3 months ago on November 30, 2023

by Rob Andrew Dongiapon


Main image of the post

Photo by Phillip Perez/TomasinoWeb


The UST Tiger Jins reigned for the second straight year in the UAAP Season 86 women's taekwondo kyorugi on Wednesday evening, Nov. 30, at the Marikina Sports Complex.

Angel Mae Lorbes lifted the Female Tiger Jins to the championship, escaping the NU Lady Bulldogs, 4-3, in the finals for their back-to-back championship.

Lorbes trounced Lady Bulldog's Aila Calip via unanimous decision in the over-67-kilogram heavyweight division that served as the championship tiebreaker between both squads.

Faced with a 0-3 deficit, season MVP Laizel Abucay carried the Tiger Jins' cudgels, blanking NU's Sharifa Dela Cruz in two rounds of the featherweight division to spark UST's comeback run.

Realis Tabiando then dominated the lightweight division, and Reign Regutana reigned in the welterweight categories, pulling the Tiger Jins back in the title hunt before Lorbes wrapped up their run with the championship.

With the win, UST has now garnered their sixth championship in Season 86.

Meanwhile, the Male Tiger Jins fell short in stopping the NU Bulldogs' five-peat aspirations, settling for silver in the men's kyorugi event.

The Tiger Jins were undefeated, 4-0, entering the finals, giving them an outright 1-0 advantage in their series against the Bulldogs, but squandered it courtesy of NU's Sturdy Gilbuena and Carl Ayaton.

Up 2-1, Tiger Jins' John Kim Pasion fell against Gilbuena, before Ayaton captured the championship with a dominant display against UST's Mark Arby Gariega.

The Bulldogs pulled off the feat without Olympian and last season's MVP Kurt Barbosa due to personal reasons.

The Male Tiger Jins ended the season with a 4-1 record led by bantamweight champion and Rookie-of-the-Year awardee Legolas Peñaredondo, flyweight champion Rommel Pablo, and heavyweight titlist Israel Cantos.


Tiger Jins

UAAP Taekwondo


NU Bulldogs

Profile picture of Rob Andrew Dongiapon

Rob Andrew Dongiapon

Sports Editor

Rob Andrew L. Dongiapon is a Sports Editor at TomasinoWeb. He is an avid fan of sports and competition. He also finds great entertainment in combat sports, He continues to strive to make this love of sports pay his future bills. Aside from studying journalism, he writes for Thunderous Intentions where he displays his unhealthy love of the Oklahoma City Thunder. When he is not writing, he probably is watching YouTube videos of how to take over the world.


Loading comments...

Leave a Comment



(will not be displayed)