Connect with us


#TWenty: The 2018 TomasinoWeb Year-end special



Art by Jessica Lopez
3 of 22
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse

19. Acquittal of Bong Revilla on his plunder case 

Photo courtesy to Rappler.

After four years since former Senator Ramon “Bong” Revilla was charged with plunder in regards to his Priority Development Assistance Fund scam, the Sandiganbayan Special First Division acquitted Revilla after the prosecution’s failure to prove his guilt last December 7.

However, his fellow accused Janet Lim Napoles and lawyer Richard Cambe were found guilty of plunder.

3 of 22
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse



Former CSC secretary now president



Former Central Student Council (CSC) secretary, Robert Dominic Gonzales, is set to lead the council as the newly elected president as officially announced on Saturday together with the new members of the executive board for the following academic year.

The Medicine sophomore ran as an independent and lone candidate for the presidential post with 17, 175 votes while 3, 947 ballots were left unanswered.

Along with Gonzales, candidates who won the positions of secretary, treasurer, auditor, and public relations officer were also proclaimed by the Central Commission on Election (COMELEC) while the position for vice president was left vacant.

Legal Management freshman Krizia Milleny Bricio (Independent) acquired the highest total of votes for the secretariat post with 7, 449 over Chemistry freshman Karch Andrei Rafael (Lakas ng Diwang Tomasino) and advertising arts senior Nicolas Sia (Lakas Tomasino Coalition). A total of 4,994 students left the ballots unanswered.

Political Science junior and lone candidate Jan Rafael Lipat (Lakas Tomasino Coalition) was elected as the new treasurer of the council with 12, 093 votes while 9, 029 ballots were left unanswered.

Accountancy freshman and lone candidate Patricia Claire Cruz (Lakas Tomasino Coalition) was announced as auditor garnering a total of 11, 933 votes; 9, 189 were left unanswered.

Physical therapy sophomore and lone candidate Ian Jericho Sun (Lakas ng Tomasino Coalition) obtained the position of PRO with 10, 591 votes; 10, 531 ballots were left unanswered.

A total of 21,122 out of 38,032 Thomasians participated in this year’s elections held last April 24 to 27, lower than last year’s 26,148 out of 38,045.

Next year’s CSC Central Board, composed of the newly-elected local student council presidents, are as follows: Sean Matthew Sison (Alfredo M. Velayo – College of Accountancy), Hector Armando Sario. (College of Education), Rigel Kent Almonte (College of Rehabilitation Sciences) Cameron Jilliane de Leon (College of Science) Stephen Batacan (College of Tourism and Hospitality Management) Lady Freja Gascon (Faculty of Arts and Letters) Lyodichie Camarao (Faculty of Civil Law), John Knight Gulla (Faculty of Medicine and Surgery), Lorenzo Gabriel Banayo (Faculty of Pharmacy), John Michael Cruz (Faculty of Philosophy), Siddharta Chiong, O. P. (Faculty of Sacred Theology), Jillian Joenn Enriquez (Education High School) Charlize Noelle Dimaunahan (Junior High School) Marieliz Quianzon (Institute of Physical Education and Athletics) and Dale Ignatius Marollano (Senior High School).

Local SCs face Failure of Elections

Five local student councils were left without an student council President, proclaiming a failure of elections

The local student councils whose presidential position remain vacant due to failure of elections are as follows: The College of Architecture,  College of Commerce and Business Administration, College of Nursing, and the Faculty of Engineering.

Meanwhile,  the College of Fine Arts and Design COMELEC declared a failure of elections for all the positions in the executive board.

There was no candidate for the position of President in the Institute of Information and Computing Sciences Student Council.

According to the UST Student’s Election Code of 2011 (USEC), a failure of election is declared whenever the voter turnout is less than 25 percent of the total population of the electorate

In section 8 of the USEC, the Central or Local COMELEC concerned shall call for special elections fifteen (15) days from declaration of failure of elections.


Continue Reading


Tiger Spikers dominate beach volley day 1




Defending champions University of Santo Tomas Spikers opened their title defense with three wins in the UAAP Season 80 beach volleyball tournament at the SM Sands by the Bay last Oct. 5.

The Lady Spikers dropped their first set against Tin Tiamzon and May Luna of La Salle before showing their gutz to steal the match, 21–23, 21–19, 15–11.

The duo of Sisi Rondina and Caitlyn Viray proved their dominance against NU’s Audrey Paran and Roma Doroman, 21–9, 21–8.

“Yun anng hindi ko ini-expect na hindi nila ma-control. Pero yung experince nila, yung maturity, andun pa rin kaya sa huli, sila pa rin ang nanalo,” UST head caoch Paul Jan Doloiras said.

In the men’s division, KR Guzman and Anthony Arbasto survived the University of the Philippines Fighting Maroons, 12–21, 21–15, 17–15, to open their campaign on a high note.

Day 2 of the competition resumes today, Oct. 6, at the same venue.

By Aaron Brennt Eusebio


Continue Reading


Archers bury Growling Tigers



(Photo by Kennelf Monteza/TomasinoWeb)

The University of Santo Tomas Growling Tigers suffered a lopsided loss at the hands of the De La Salle University Green Archers, 86–115, in the UAAP Season 80 men’s basketball tournament at the Araneta Coliseum last Sept. 30.

With 1:42 remaining on the clock in the payoff period, Ricci Rivero delivered the goods by converting a lay-up, 115–84, giving La Salle their biggest lead of the game. Steve Akomo would add a finishing putback to end the game, 115–85.

UST gave away 37 points off turnovers against La Salle, as the Tigers committed 35 turnovers compared to DLSU’s 24.

“Sabi ko [sa teammates ko] huwag niyong iisipin masyado kung 0–6 tayo,” UST skipper Marvin Lee said. “Magprepare tayo ng maayos para [maipakita natin] yung best natin next game.”

Oliver De Guzman led UST with career-high 18 points, while Akomo added 15 markers and 13 boards.

DLSU’s Ben Mbala tallied game-high 29 points.

UST will try end their first round campaign with a win against University of the East Red Warriors on Oct. 7, Saturday, at the Araneta Coliseum.

“Pagtatrabahuin namin [yung panalo] para makuha namin yung first win namin,” Lee ended.

Box Scores:

UST 86 — De Guzman 18, Akomo 15, Sta Ana 14, Macasaet 8, Lee 8, Faundo 8, Romero 4, Kwawukumey 4, Escalambre 2, Huang 2, Caunan 2, Arana 1, Garcia 0, Lorenzana 0, Soriano.

DLSU 115- Mbala 29, Caracut 14, Santillan 13, Rivero P 11 , Montalbo 8, Tratter 8, Go 7, Capacio 7, Rivero R 7, Tero 4, Baltazar 4, Paraiso 2, Gonzales 0.

Quarter scores: 30–21, 60–42, 85–63, 115–86.

By Cyreel Gian Zarate


Continue Reading