Biggest changes for the biggest year of USTv


     Student Organizations Coordinating Council (SOCC) President Jan Michael Borja announced in a press conference on Thursday, November 14, some changes made for the tenth year celebration of the USTv Students’ Choice Awards.

     According to Borja, these changes were made to uphold this year’s goal which is to make “USTv TV-centered and to be serious in advocating responsible TV content.”

     There would only be 24 awards given instead of the original 33 awards with four main categories: Religious, News and Public Affairs, Entertainment and Special Awards.

     Secretary General’s Executive Assistant Imelda Dakis M.D. discussed the power of media, following this year’s theme “Makabuluhang telebisyon, hinuhubog ng kabataan ngayon” which highlights the influence of the media to the Thomasian youth through responsible TV programming.

     “A show should not be just a show,” said Tomasian Cable Television’s Chief Operations Officer Alissandra C. Iraola. “It must move someone to be someone greater.”

     The USTv Students’ Choice Awards has served as a medium to determine what TV shows Thomasians are watching and it should be a means of “evangelization, education and nation-building.”

     This annual event influences people to form “advocacies toward responsible media” that set it apart from other student-driven award-giving bodies, according to Iraola. USTv, which began in 2004, gives importance to the content of the show and examines whether Thomasian values are embodied in a show.

     SOCC announced that the voting will still be done through e-Leap, either accessed through mobiles or computers. And as part of their effective communication plan to promote the event, they would make use of a website and publication materials.

     The trophy to be given in the USTv Students’ Choice Awards Gabi ng Parangal on Feb. 20, 2014, designed by former CFAD Dean Jaime de los Santos, has several modifications.

     It has three-colored cylinders with an emblem to represent: blue, representing the Blessed Mother, is signified by the emblem of a rose; green, referring to St. Dominic de Guzman, is represented by the Dominican cross; and red, which symbolizes St. Thomas Aquinas, is with an emblem of the sun.

     The USTv Kick-Off party called Unang Dekada Pasinaya will be on Nov. 21.

     Nominees for the USTv Students’ Choice Awards are the following:


     Students’ Choice of Catholic Feature
                    Rated K “Senakulo” (ABS-CBN)
                    Reporter’s Notebook “Santo Papa” (GMA)
                    Brigada “Bokasyon” (GMA News TV)


     Students’ Choice of News Program
                    TV Patrol (ABS-CBN)
                    Bandila (ABS-CBN)
                    24 Oras (GMA)

     Students’ Choice of Male/Female News Host
                    Ted Failon – TV Patrol (ABS-CBN)
                    Korina Sanchez – TV Patrol (ABS-CBN)
                    Jessica Soho – State of the Nation (GMA News TV)

     Students’ Choice of Public Affairs Program
                    The Bottomline with Boy Abunda (ABS-CBN)
                    Reporter’s Notebook (GMA)
                    Imbestigador (GMA)

     Students’ Choice of Magazine Program
                    Matanglawin (ABS-CBN)
                    Rated K (ABS-CBN)
                    Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho (GMA)

     Students’ Choice of Documentary Special
                    Kabayan Reports: Gusto Kong Mag-aral (ABS-CBN)
                    Agosto 21: Ang Pagpatay kay Ninoy Aquino (ABS-CBN)
                    Camera Juan (GMA)

     Students’ Choice of Sports Program
                    Sports Unlimited (ABS-CBN)
                    Sports Pilipinas (GMA News TV)
                    News TV All Sports (GMA News TV)

     Students’ Choice of Sports Personality
                    Dyan Castillejo (ABS-CBN)
                    Mark Nelson (ABS-CBN)
                    Chris Tiu (GMA)


     Students’ Choice of Comedy Program
                    Banana Split Extra Scoop (ABS-CBN)
                    Bubble Gang (GMA)
                    Wow Mali Pa Rin (TV5)

     Students’ Choice of Reality/Game Show
                    The Voice of the Philippines (ABS-CBN)
                    Minute To Win It (ABS-CBN)
                    Pilipinas Got Talent Season 4 (ABS-CBN)

     Students’ Choice of Reality/Game Show Host
                    Toni Gonzaga – The Voice of the Philippines (ABS-CBN)
                    Luis Manzano – PGT 4/Kapamilya Deal or No Deal (ABS-CBN)
                    Ryan Agoncillo – Talentadong Pinoy (TV5)

     Students’ Choice of Talk Show
                    Kris TV (ABS-CBN)
                    The Buzz (ABS-CBN)
                    Startalk (GMA)

     Students’ Choice of Talk Show Host
                    Kris Aquino – Kris TV (ABS-CBN)
                    Boy Abunda – The Buzz (ABS-CBN)
                    Toni Gonzaga – The Buzz (ABS-CBN)

     Students’ Choice of Variety Show
                    ASAP 18 (ABS-CBN)
                    It’s Showtime (ABS-CBN)
                    Eat Bulaga (GMA)

     Students’ Choice of Variety Show Host
                    Toni Gonzaga – ASAP 18 (ABS-CBN)
                    Anne Curtis – It’s Showtime (ABS-CBN)
                    Karylle – It’s Showtime (ABS-CBN)

     Students’ Choice of Drama Program
                    Juan dela Cruz (ABS-CBN)
                    Be Careful with My Heart (ABS-CBN)
                    Maalaala Mo Kaya (ABS-CBN)

     Students’ Choice of Foreign Drama Program
                    That Winter the Wind Blows (ABS-CBN)
                    Rooftop Prince (ABS-CBN)
                    Absolute Boyfriend (ABS-CBN)


     Student Leaders’ Choice of Network Foundation
                    ABS-CBN Foundation Inc. (ABS-CBN)
                    GMA Kapuso Foundation Inc. (GMA)
                    TV5 Alagang Kapatid (TV5)
                    Kamanggagawa (UNTV)

     Student Leaders’ Choice of TV Personality
                    Kim Atienza (ABS-CBN)
                    Ryan Agoncillo (TV5)
                    Jessica Soho (GMA)

     Student Leaders’ Choice of TV Program
                    I-Witness (GMA)
                    Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho (GMA)
                    Reporter’s Notebook (GMA)

     Student Leaders’ Choice of TV Network
                    ABS-CBN Corporation
                    GMA Corporation
                    TV5 Corporation
                    UNTV Corporation

By Ariel Ruth A. Peras
Photo taken by Shelley Ann D. Badayos

  • Jejo

    Wala bang Best Full Animated Program award?!?